FIFA World Cup Design Evolution

Image Source: spfdigital/

There can be no other game as globally stimulating as football and no match as prestigious as the upcoming FIFA. The first match took place in Uruguay in 1930 (though at a much less massive scale) and since then the competition has grown in popularity. The competition took place thrice before the Second World War put a stop to it , but when it resumed the passion for the game and the trophy was intensified to an even greater degree.

Explore: Is the FIFA 2014 Logo Prestigious Enough to Represent the Competition?

Sixteen tournaments have been held since 1930 and the FIFA World Cup has become an icon of global competition. The audience for the game is well over 37 billion people and growing, and the honor for the glistening trophy is the focus of all the various games. Brazil, the host of the 2014 FIFA World Cup has won the trophy five times becoming one of the favorites in the hall of football fame. The original trophy remains with Brazil but the new trophy created and designed by artist Silvio Gazzaniga, from Italy is a sight to behold. Gazzaniga described his creation with the words:

“The lines spring out from the base, rising in spirals, stretching out to receive the world. From the remarkable dynamic tensions of the compact body of the sculpture rise the figures of two athletes at the   stirring moment of victory”.

The passion stirred by the game is rivalled only by the fame of the players like Lionel Messi from Argentina, Cristiano Ronaldo from Portugal and the youngest player Raheem Sterling from England. Personally, my favorite team remains Argentina with Brazil coming a close second. Which team are you rooting for in the 2014 FIFA World Cup?

FIFA World Cup History
Share This:

Embed this Infographic on your site using the html below:

If you enjoyed our Infographic, please consider sharing it using the buttons below!

Leave a Reply